Magic in a Bottle

It honestly didn’t matter that I had hit my tee shot left into the water on the seventh hole, and, after taking a penalty drop, I was hitting my third into a par-4. It really didn’t matter that my playing competitor had hit a shot stiff and had a 3-foot putt for a birdie-3. Nor did it matter that having a downhill putt from above the hole, regardless of length, was almost impossible to make, or even keep within five feet of the hole the other way. What did matter, in that instant, when I hit my third shot, that I had suddenly found my swagger on a golf course again. Normally, after I hit a good shot, I’d talk to my ball; this time, there was no need. Sometimes, I would pose, hold my finish and watch the ball arrive to its resting place; also, no need. I simply started walking toward the green, watching as the ball landed within a foot of the hole, took one small hop, and finished within three feet of the cup. Sometimes, one knows when they’ve captured magic, even for only an instant.

Now, this post may sound arrogant, or boastful, or like I’m bragging about something. There’s nothing to brag about in and of itself; I missed the putt, and all went along from there. But, what I captured in that moment, that ever fleeting feeling of everything aligning together, and without a second of hesitation, knowing you’ve pulled off something cool, whether it be in a game, sport, or even one’s love life, is nothing short of incredible. It’s what makes me feel alive, and I sincerely cherish every moment like this.

Why is this so important? For one, my most recent posts have been about the struggles of my golf career, and all the negative aspects that I have discussed in detail. Despite all the struggles, it’s those feelings of, “Hey, I can still do this,” that keep me going, and make me appreciate all the struggles and hardships.

What has/is your “Magic in a Bottle” moment? Please share in the comments below.

Thanks, as always, for reading.

About mikeguillenblog

Nevada resident who splits time between Las Vegas and Phoenix. I'm a former professional golfer turned author, freelance writer, and blogger.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Golf, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

