Another Good Walk Spoiled Part 4

Not much happened after I choked in those two tournaments. Things pretty much stayed dormant until I moved to Phoenix in the spring of 2009. One day at home, I bent over to grab a coin on the floor and suddenly…

*CRACK*

Something dislodged in my back, and when I moved upright, my spine was tilted to the right. I firm yank to the left realigned everything, but for the next few weeks I couldn’t bend down more than waist height without it happening again. Eventually, it stopped.

Little did I know then that this would be the beginning of several injuries, and slowly but surely the decline of my career. For one, I started pulling up on short shots, either hitting them two feet in front of me, or skulling them 20 yards over the green. Long swings were still okay, but I eventually developed the yips.

Next, not to be outdone, I started to develop severe tennis elbow, which would sometimes create such sharp pain that I would drop the club in the middle of my backswing. After a while, the game got less and less fun, the broken clubs starting adding up, and by the end of 2009, everything fell apart. By the middle of 2010, I had literally lost everything; it’s not a story I will tell just yet, but essentially, in one fell swoop, I had nothing. I wouldn’t play another round until 2013, and it took until the spring of 2015 to where I could hit a wedge shot decently, most of the time.

Which brings us to the present day. I still have an immense passion for the game, and work hard every day trying to bring my physical abilities to match the love I have to play the game at a professional level. From this point forward, my blog, for the most part, will be dedicated to what I’m working on, my progress, and various thoughts through the process. I look forward to sharing what the next chapter(s) will be.

About mikeguillenblog

Nevada resident who splits time between Las Vegas and Phoenix. I'm a former professional golfer turned author, freelance writer, and blogger.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Golf, Serious and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

