A Monk’s Life

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “New Skin.”

If I could be someone completely different than who I am now for a year, I would be a Buddhist monk. As an American constantly surrounded by consumerism, a life that is devoid of any kind of material gain would be a great refresher. It’s very easy to fall into the trap of anxiety about making enough money, whether your boss likes you or not, etc. Any time I read spiritual texts from the Buddhist tradition, it reminds me that my first and foremost incentive is to help others.

About mikeguillenblog

Nevada resident who splits time between Las Vegas and Phoenix. I'm a former professional golfer turned author, freelance writer, and blogger.
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Monk’s Life

  1. That is wonderful because this world needs a lot of help! 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

