Simple Changes 1: Better Health Begins With A Better Breakfast

Disclaimer: The following post is anecdotal in nature, and illustrates steps I made to improve my health and well-being. I am no expert in nutrition, and am only sharing this information because it’s something that worked for me.
Before and After

The above before and after photo spans a four-month period. I have no idea what the actual number of pounds I’ve lost in this time frame; what I do know is that it has been the third time I’ve had to lose a substantial amount of weight in order to regain a semblance of health. There is still plenty of work to do, and a decent amount of weight to lose. With that said, I want to share what I’ve done, and am continuing to do, to put an end to my struggles with obesity.

The most important change I’ve made is the one I’ll address in this post: Changing my breakfast.

In times past, whenever I was making a conscious effort to improve my eating habits, it was EXTREMELY tedious. For example, anytime I had cereal for breakfast, I would weigh out my portions. To the gram. Not a fun habit to get into, and very easy to neglect. Any time I have had an issue with maintaining my weight, excess grains have always been a major obstacle, especially considering how ubiquitous foods like cereal and pastries are in the typical American breakfast. This time around, after learning about Tim Ferriss’ Slow Carb Diet, I have now simplified my breakfast into a healthy, filling meal that I eat every day, without exception. Here’s what it is:

1 bag of frozen stir-fry vegetables (make sure it doesn’t have any corn, potatoes, or other high-starch vegetables)

A touch of olive oil, along with salt and pepper for seasoning

Two whole eggs

2-3 egg whites
After microwaving the vegetables, I place them in a non-stick skillet over medium heat with olive oil, salt and pepper. Once most of the excess water has evaporated, I scramble in the two whole eggs, then the egg whites just as the yolks are beginning to set.

And that’s it. If I want to mix it up, or add some extra protein, I’ll heat up some leftover grilled chicken thighs. Here is the end result:

IMG_20141119_075333

There are numerous advantages to approaching breakfast in this manner.

1. It’s delicious.

2. It’s healthy. Rich in nutrient-dense vegetables and plenty of protein, it will fuel your body without any of the setbacks energy-dense carbohydrates can cause.

2. It’s filling. If you’re anything like me, being able to eat a lot of food is a huge plus, and this meal is by no means small.

3. It’s cheap. Even with a half-pound of chicken, the total cost for this breakfast is about 2.50; it’s only a little over a dollar without the chicken.

Just by making this one simple change, I promise it will boost your metabolism,you’ll feel better, and you’ll be on your way to better health.

Questions? Comments? Suggestions for improvement? Please post in the comments below. Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and now Instagram.

Stay tuned for more updates and posts about other simple changes I’ve made.

About mikeguillenblog

Nevada resident who splits time between Las Vegas and Phoenix. I'm a former professional golfer turned author, freelance writer, and blogger.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Lifestyle, Serious and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

