Get What You Want With Less Effort: A Personal Account (Part Two)

For those of you who haven’t read Part One of this series:

1.Shame on you! Go read it. Now!! Please? (This is my version of being “aggressive-passive”, which seems a lot friendlier than passive-aggressiveness.)

2. Forgive me for the tone of number one.

For those of you who have read Part One, thank you.

In order to keep the themes of this series in a coherent order, a withheld a small truth about our friend, “Jessica.” While she is very much passionate about animals, there is something else she is probably equally passionate about: automobiles. She has a tattoo of an old Chevy pickup to prove this. She has some experience working with them, but not enough to pursue a career at it just yet. Someone may be asking, “How do pinup shows helping animals have anything to do with working with cars?”

I’ll get to that shortly. First, some backstory:

One day, Jessica had posted on Facebook that she was looking for either an office job or a job as a Dental Assistant. I commented, “Work on your non-profit.” Not surprisingly, she responded (I’m paraphrasing), “That’s not going to help me, I need to find something steady that doesn’t involve bartending.”

It took a few months but I’m now going to answer the underlying question: Why would working on something you’re passionate about lead to working into something else that’s not related?

Three very important reasons:

1) Do things you enjoy. James Altucher drills this point in his book, “Choose Yourself!”. Don’t waste your time looking for something that you’re only trying to do to survive. There’s enough people in the world like that already. You probably know some of them. Do they look happy to you?

By showing your skills in one area, 2) you can backdoor your way into other opportunities. I know this from personal experience. When I turned professional (golf) in 2006, I was looking for a place where I could practice and play in exchange for helping out at the course, but not being an actual employee. I found a course that gave me that opportunity for the summer, and when the summer was ending, they offered me a part-time job. Not only that, but my time there allowed me to build references and friendships that I still feel the effects of to this day.

So, for Jessica’s purpose, working on her non-profit organization will get her noticed, will get others to see what she’s capable of, and that will lead to other opportunities, especially opportunities in which she is interested.

3) You get to have fun while you’re polishing your skills. This is something no school can provide, and even if it can, it can’t be done very cheaply. I’ve saved my most important point for last, and it even gets its own space and paragraph.

There is a SUBSTANTIAL difference between saying, “I’ve learned this,” versus, “I’ve done this.” And THAT is what people, especially those who are hiring in this era, are looking for. Trust me, anyone can go into a classroom and learn; it means much more for those who DO.

Now, some of you may be wondering, “What if I don’t have a cause to champion? What if I just want to get to point A to point B?”

The next post of this series is going to answer that for you. Stay Tuned.

Be sure to like my Facebook page and to follow me on Twitter.

Feedback is always appreciated. Please do so below!

About mikeguillenblog

Nevada resident who splits time between Las Vegas and Phoenix. I'm a former professional golfer turned author, freelance writer, and blogger.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Serious and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

